Nostalgia

My first taste of it all was when my own work went on a catwalk. My GCSE garment was selected for a local fashion show. I selected the model, chose accessories, and created the makeup and hair. It was at that moment, with the adrenaline rush, that I truly knew that I had to pursue this as a career.

From this emotion I then went on to study Fashion Design at college and now finally the early stages of University. The skills gained on my past course are diverse ranging from draping on the stand to millinery, industry themed briefs to design, screen and hand painted prints.

.

Picture2

My favourite due to its uniqueness and most successful both personally and industrially was my Millinery!! This hat was the first ever had I made, yet it was still entered into the international ‘Feltmakers’ Design Award’ by the Worshipful Company of Feltmakers, winning me the ‘Innovative Use of Felt’ award and £200! This was an amazing thing for me as not only did my work beat degree students who study millinery but it was also put into industry, out of the class room! I did 2 radio interviews and went in the local news paper because of it so a truly fantastic opportunity.

Picture1

Image of hat with supporting work

Picture4

2nd interviewed

069

http://www.feltmakers.co.uk/the-feltmakers-design-award-2014

My award and link to the website about the other winners!!

Shortly not long after this I was able to relieve the sensation of my first ever catwalk show as I was currently working on my final collection, which would ultimately be showcased at the end of year show!! working endlessly due to the fact that I’d be so over ambitious with what I wanted to do, making 3 additional hats as well for the collection, finding the right model, doing photo shoots as well as the physical construction! But my efforts finally paid o as my collection was the closing one and the intensity it brought was more than I could of wanted. it was perfect!

Picture5

Photo shoot

(video)

MY COLLECTION

As well as my course I have done other things. I did a 3 month internship at Lulu Liu as a design assistant making toiles for their S/S14 collection for LFW, I was a member of the Lost and Found group, organising exhibitions for up and coming artists. However I have also done the complete opposite. I have completed my Bronze and Silver DofE and am working on Gold, and I spent a month in Mozambique and Swaziland, doing trekking and voluntary community work.

So completely different, yet both major parts of who I am and what I love to do, giving me the insight and knowledge of experiences I have today.

Leave a comment